Business Ideas/Crochet

IMG_8821

As someone who is interested in the outdoors, camping, fishing, hiking, and other parts of scout craft, you my need to have the means by which to purchase equipment such as knives, fishing rods, etc.  A good way to do this is to learn how to make (or grow) something that other people will want, so that you can sell it to them.  Not only might it earn you money, but it is also good to learn new skills if there is a good opportunity.

For example, several years ago I asked a relative to teach me how to crochet (pronounced Crow-Shay).  Crocheting is a little bit like knitting except that you use a little hook to pull the yarn in and out.  In my opinion it is also quite a bit faster than knitting.

I learned how to crochet, and then made a hat.  I gave it as a Christmas gift.  Then I started making dishcloths, which are fairly easy, because they are just a big square.  I started learning different tricks about how to make hats and cloths look better.  I also taught myself to do a border around the edges, which makes it look much more finished.  I started selling dishcloths and I sold a lot.  I was able to show customers the different colours of yarn I had, and then I could make custom made dishcloths.

There are lots of things you can make or grow to sell to other people.  But you don’t have to sell stuff.  Instead of selling something, you might be able to trade it for something else.  I traded one of my homemade hats to a friend for a hat that had his business logo on it.  Or you can trade something in return for an experience.

If you live on a farm maybe you could raise animals (like chickens or turkeys).  Or if you don’t have enough space for animals, you might be able to grow flowers, vegetables, or fruit.  Or maybe you will find that it is easier to learn to make something (like dishcloths) that you can make while sitting still.

Depending on where you live, the laws and regulations will be different about whether of not you can sell certain goods.

You don’t have to make something, either.  In the city, you could shovel other people’s driveways, rake leaves, or mow lawns.

There are tons of ways to make money, wherever you live!

2 thoughts on “Business Ideas/Crochet

Leave a Reply

