The Scout Law

IMG_3430The Scout Law, as originally intended by Lord Robert Baden-Powell (the founder of the Scouting Movement), consisted of these ten parts:

        1. A Scout’s Honour is to be Trusted.
        2. A Scout is Loyal.
        3. A Scout’s Duty is to be Useful and to Help Others.
        4. A Scout is a friend to all and a brother to every other Scout, no matter what social class the other belongs.
        5. A Scout is Courteous.
        6. A Scout is a Friend to Animals.
        7. A Scout Obeys his Orders.
        8. A Scout Smiles and Whistles under all Circumstances.
        9. A Scout is Thrifty.
        10. A Scout is Clean in Thought, Word, and Deed.

As a Scout it was your duty to live up to these laws as much as possible.  Even if you are not a Scout, all the Scout Laws are generally pretty good to go by in regular life.

I will try to explain these laws in greater detail with my next posts.




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s