Suet

a54dfe19-6b07-41d0-9502-f7369b4f78ca_zpsudjli1ckSuet is a great thing to have on your backyard bird feeder, and may attract other birds like woodpeckers that might not come for normal birdseed.  Suet is also really good for birds (especially during winter) because it contains necessary fat and protein that help keep them warm.075be846-92a4-420b-af1b-35eb77f18303_zps4mfzgpxu

You can buy bird feeders with a cage for suet at your local hardware or farm store.  For suet itself, you can buy it, or you can make it yourself, which is more fun.  Here’s how I made mine:

I scraped bacon grease (lard is also good) out of a pan and added about half that amount of peanut butter (any kind is good, crunchy or smooth).  I then added enough birdseed to make it pretty thick.

I then spread it about an inch or two thick in a plastic container with saran wrap and placed in the freezer.  2c5de620-1442-4c2a-b7d6-e751cac8cf32_zps7vr2lsgoOnce frozen, I chopped into chunks that would fit in my bird feeder.d26b409f-b322-4f71-a344-ee7a081a991c_zpsluluv5ti

I put a couple pieces out on the feeder and put the rest back in the freezer for later.

I found that my suet seemed to melt when in warm weather so I only put it out when it gets cold.  I did find this website with a recipe for “no-melt suet,” which I tried, but the suet has a different texture than what I usually make.  Feel free to experiment around.  There is definitely no right-or-wrong way to do it.

It’s fun to see what different kinds of birds will show up for different types of food.  Now it’s time to sit back with your binoculars and watch!

One thought on “Suet

Leave a Reply

